bic(kering) moment

You know what’s the most miserably annoying and frustrating part about this recent knee procedure I went through?

It most definitely is:

  • NOT the cold sterile OT with me being the most undressed of the entire lot, who are all comfortably swathed in layers of envious cloths called scrubs.
  • NOT the prick of the IV as I turn my browns helplessly into the man’s own blue eyes.
  • NOT the feeling that right lower half of my body does not exist as I recover through movie-style fog.
  • NOT the painful hauling of my dead heavy parts into the back seat of our van.
  • NOT the excruciating hobble from the garage, navigating perceived and real levels of the ground.
  • NOT the lowering of myself into the couch and the sinking feeling that the right leg can’t move no matter how hard I try.
  • NOT the swinging into and out of consciousness causing blurs of different intensities, visions and voices.
  • NOT the losing of my balance as I navigate crutches and almost crashing onto the floor, and thus ensuring that the knee cracks further.
  • NOT the dizziness that threatened to swoop me into a spiraling path down onto the hard floor.
  • NOT the helplessness that drowns the voice and me altogether as I ask for the basics.
  • NOT the compression stockings that not only LOOK ugly but also squeeze the breath out of my comfortably rounded fat thighs and legs.
  • NOT the seamlessly endless hours stuck to bed with a book, whose pages almost always draw a parallel in life.
  • NOT the checking of a thousand boring emails and wait for the one that makes sense. (Of course I mean all of your comments as mails and not just aeropostale, dsw and kohl’s sales!)
  • NOT being able to sleep despite popping in the recommended dose for humans of the drug promethazine.
  • NOT being able to take a shower for two days until the daughter brilliantly came upon the idea of cling wrapping the area!
  • NOT the pain that still shoots through both directions of the leg every time I move it.
  • NOT the thick cloth knee band wound tight across, that I strongly believe is liberally doused with a nasty itch powder.
  • NOT having to get poor husband to leave work at odd hours to drive me to the therapy sessions.
  • NOT the icepack-electrical stimulation that accompanies the physical therapy.
  • NOT having to endure the grueling exercises during therapy sessions.
  • NOT having at least three new people gaze ( and certainly not in any flattering way) down at your bare bloated leg every single day.
  • NOT the feeling of amusement on everyone’s eyes as they see limited slow-mo me.
  • NOT being able to step out and drive on my own.

***

*Pause*

**

*Dramatic Pause*

*

IT IS THE

DAILY %!*#@%$*! SHAVING

OF THE OFFENDING LEGS!

***

ps: Am one disposable blade away from feeling sorry for the entire male population who go through this every single day!! :\

25 thoughts on “bic(kering) moment

  1. I don’t like my avatar next to my comments! I look like a zombie-ized regular hexagon which seems to have died reluctantly swallowing mantrik-baba’s immortality potion! Yes, you read that right! How do I change it? Damn you WordPress! :-/

  2. Gosh people, this was supposed to be funny :( See that final big bold letters. You are supposed to go “haha” just like Sajni and Neha did. *sulk.

    Stitha: Hope you like this onion head better! :P Yes, yes, will come by!

    Whencut: Thanks, is there any other way? :)

    Jira: Am good. Thank you :)

    Sands: Yea, you know me, am a drama queen :)

    Praveen: Thanks for loling :)

    Baph: Yeah, in the process.. :)

    Neha: haha, well, am glad you are. Crying and whining is getting boring :)

    Sajni: Thank you. Sometimes those spaces carry a lot more meaning. :)

  3. What a p(h)unny title and post! Of course, you could also have called it a “Lady(‘s) Sensor(y) Reflections” :p

    My question is – why bother? I am sure the physical therapists have treated more than a hirsute few, so one more won’t make a difference. :D

  4. Priya: I know! Docs just don’t give us important post-op information!
    Adithya looks like an amoeba grew a pair of dwindly legs. Stitha’s on his own :D

    max: lol, you should try the Himesh Reshmiyya look :P

    bpsk: That is a nice title! Next time, and am q sure there will be a next time.
    O am sure PT’s don’t care, I am just being my thoughtful self :p

    Adithya: What’s over? :\

    Mystic: Am good, limping good :)
    Tell me about it@shaving!

    Prestid: Aren’t you the sweetheart for joining in the pain! :)

  5. Boosmom: Missed you around! Had a good trip I hope :)
    Am better, thank you :)

    Naren: Thank you :) hehe@season. We’ll just have to see..

    Nikhil: Am good, thank you :)

  6. Pingback: a block « tunneling thru'

  7. Pingback: Yogini Karen: An Interview | tunneling thru'

  8. Pingback: Yogini Karen: Allways Yoga - So, What's Her Story?So, What's Her Story?

I'd love to hear what you have to say, do write back!