thank you all

For being there these 30 days, and egging me on this completely insane post a day thing that I enrolled myself into for reasons beyond me.

October 31st is Halloween. The very few holidays after July 4th and Christmas that the USA celebrates according to the date on the calendar and not conveniently pushed to the 3rd Thursday or the 2nd Monday so as to wrangle a 3-day weekend. No one’s complaining, we could all use the days off, and jump onto the nearest highway and spend the next 7 hours stuck along with the rest of the bozos trying to go somewhere.

Anyways, Halloween’s always sparked something in me. Dress up. To be a goofball for a day and enjoy it. Well, one can be a goofball anyday and enjoy it, but to have many more goofballs around you and enjoying it too is something else. Halloween’s that one day pass you get after being ‘oh so serious’ for the rest of the 364 days!

Since we (from India) didn’t grow up pretending to be ghouls, witches and cute pumpkins, there was a kid in me who wanted to indulge. Fortunately we have friends who also have their inner child alive and we do get together every year to play dress up. The themes, costumes and pretense has ranged from sweet to sexy to traditional to scary to even ones on the edge. At the end of the day, it’s a pleasure to be someone you aren’t. Talk about the thrill of badass identities.

It’s Friday, and I believe it would be mid-50’s this evening.

While my older two will run away with their friends and join the hundreds of little kids and adults sipping warm cider on their rounds across the neighborhood (for some reason our community is a hot place for trick or treat-ing. We see unknown faces, (with and without makeup I mean) and the haul’s worthy is what am told. Munchkin, I and the husband would stay home answering the door and have her squeal in fright and run if a mask appears and jump with joy when she sees a princess. I occasionally wear a mask or a wig and do my fun thing to all who show up at our door. It’s joy in many ways.

Wishing all you folks a fun filled trick or treat evening, eat a lot of candy (and don’t you dare regift them!) and frankly, what a fun way to end October!


35 thoughts on “thank you all

  1. hamma..now that I have recovered..

    It has been a fun month! sooper posts, you had all through and I am glad that I could participate in some.

    That costume was awesome! spooky but awesome!! Hopefully the kids showing up at your door take it better than me :P

    Have a wonderful halloween!

  2. Gulp! Rads, can I use your mug to make my little one eat her vegetables?

    And congratulations on your month-long marathon. Now that you’ve proved you can do it, there’s no reason to slack off, right?

  3. Terri: Sure thing, use away, some good it would come to!
    Right@slacking off! :)

    Stitha: Thanks. Not lol’able? :)

    Priya: :D

    Archana: Youd idn’t say a thing about that pic.Still lol’able? :P
    Yeart@contiuing :)

    Giri: lol, thanks :)

    deitadi: Thank you! :)

  4. OHMYGOD! is that you? that’s really you?!! that takes guts Rads. Doubt any of us would do that and put it up for all to look at. you are such a sport :-)

    congratulations & happy halloween.
    ps: i think you are beautiful. even in this costume. :-D

  5. oh yeah, i forgot to mention, the first thing i wake up, i run to see what you’ve written. the 30 day posts, what variety? mind-boggling… :-)

  6. Happy Halloween. That Jokerni photo is really scary! Is that a Gimped photo or a real dress rehearsal photo of you ? Looks cool though! Hope you scare a lot of folks and gorge on candies and have fun! And Congrats on your post marathon, you did well.

  7. Adithya: Brilliant, now you know why I changed colors! ..and you just doing ‘bandaa’ :-p

    Priya: Thank YOU! :-)

    Dinesh: Gimped? *gasp! Of course not! That’s my natural self of course! :p

    sajni: You made my day! Thank you. Yes, that’s me. It’s a thin line between guts and being reckless :-)
    I am beautiful? Okay! You need to get out more often :p

    Apple: haha, thanks. :)

  8. I am not coming online in the mornings again! esp if you are around…

    But then jokes apart, nice work on the graphics, you might wanna chuck data analysis and give this artwork stuff a shot!

    I know it’s been a tough month, but then it takes a lot to juggle a million things at work, then kids, laundry, dishes and finally write a meaningful post before you hit the sack!

    I don’t think I could have done it even if I were paid to do so.

    rock on lady!

  9. SK: Yes yes! Thank you :)

    Schmetterling: O, hardly, this was a test to see if I’d make it through! :)

    max: Thank you. No, it wasn’t easy, but am also surprised I stuck through it. Thanks for the occasional boost I needed :)

    Baph: lol, yea, figured just as well go all the way! :)

  10. Praveen: I hope so too! :))

    Mettlin: I knowww! Can you tell I’ve spent most of my time on gimp :)

    la Vida: really? Nice! I wouldn’t anytime soon. I guess the writing part came easy, to fit it into the schedule and do a fair enough job of it requires some effort. :)
    Where’s the writing tag btw? :p

    Sands: Phew! Finally someone found some resemblance :) Thanks, it was fun putting the makeup on.

  11. ooh… funda work on the Halloween.

    I guess I don’t take to changes very well:(, for a minute, I thought I had come to the wrong website.

    yep, yep continue the marathon. If you can do for one month you can do for teh rest of lifetime, ella?

  12. Congrats on getting to the finish line, would you like a bottle of water, Ms.Marathon? You show the rest of us so-called bloggers what mettle and fettle really mean. :p

  13. bpsk: Thank you. Bottle of water, gee, I thought you’d bring out your best champagne for me! :-)

    velusamy: Thanksssir!

    bg: Dear girl, it’s been fun alright :-)

    sachita: Thank you, and we are back with our orig theme. Of course if I can do it for a month, I guess I could continue. The question is do I want to. :-)

  14. Pingback: joie de vivre « tunneling thru’

  15. Pingback: two thursdays and a month « tunneling thru'

I'd love to hear what you have to say, do write back!

