ganapati 2008

Modeling clay Ganesha

Modeling clay Ganesha

This is my 20 minute Ganesha from good ol’ modelling clay that I made last night. Did the abridged version of the pooja by 7 am, read the story, placed the akshata on everyone and ran. This year Ganesha has been put on a fruit diet. Bananas and coconut. Munchkin placed a few grapes too.

In the evening, the meal will be complete. Undrallu, kozhakattais, payasam and a regular meal of daal, veggie, pulusu and chutney. That’s what’s planned at least.

So who’s feeding Ganesha and themselves what? Share? :)

ps: ..and oh, Ive been snapping pictures of Ganeshas all around the place and the collection’s growing. The variety’s mind-boggling.

29 thoughts on “ganapati 2008

  1. Priya: lol :)
    You have a food blog and wondering what to do eh? Bagundi! ..but yes, sure thing, come on over. You around the area? :)

    Shyam: Been doing this every year. I believe practice helps :)

    Praveen: hehe, you should check my last year’s. Ganesha was dieting majorly, the poor man was stick thin!

  2. entha food blog unte matram ala antara, paapam kada nenu :P I wish OH moved a little more to the east :( aina mee list choosi, feel ayyi, ninna night velli undrallu chesukunna :)

  3. Priya: Ayyooo, ala analedu nenu! Tappakunda. Of course you’re welcome, a lil concerned that you’d be eating my food as compared to what you chefs dole :P
    Did the undrallu come out fine, or did you have to open the tool box like my friend BPSK could have :D

    BPSK: There’s a reason why many kitchens have tiny little hammer kind of instruments in the kitchen. Can break coconuts, (nuts of any other kind :p) and such kozhakottais :D

    La Vida, Adithya: Thank you Thank you :)

  4. Ganesh ni fruit dietlo petti meeremo evening manchi dinner chesaara :o :o :o
    hehehe…Idol chaala baaga chesaaru…nenu varalaxmi vratam roju Ganesh idol try chesthe inkola vachindi…adi elanoo adagoddu..chepthe baagodu :((

  5. Apple: LOL! Fruit diet only for morning and lunch. Dinner was good :)
    rofl@bagoodu :)

    Amrita: Yessir, my fat little fingers kneaded and pushed that ball of clay into that figure. :) Of course it does. I do the Ganesha more for my own fun than for religious purposes. I didn’t say it and you didn’t hear it. ok? ;-)

    Swaps: Thank you! :)

  6. Mottamodataga Vinayaka Chaviti Shubhakankshalu! Mee mrittika ganapati bhale muchchataga unnadu! Mee chetullo chaala kala undi sumi! Bhesh! Bhesh! Nenu oka matu try chesa, India lo undaga, adi Vinayakudu takkuva pamuputta ekkava laga tayarayyindi. Deeniki pooja cheddam anukunte, maa amma danni choosi, ee roju Nagula Chaviti kadu nanna, Vinayaka Chaviti ani mudduga hechcharinchindi. Evito!

  7. sthitha: rofl@language and your attempt :)

    It’s just absolutely divine hearing what’s typed out there. I read it while driving and almost had to pull over as I laughed so hard. Thank you :)

    Niyaz: Thank you! Long time :) Well, bookmarking helps :P

  8. Ganeshu looks very cute. His size 1 waist goes to prove his fruit diet. ;)

    Oh, belated Vinayaka Chaturthi wishes. Mom & Chitti made kozhakatai and the usual pandiga thaligai stuff. And i wore a new tee. :D

  9. Wow, that’s great work! You wouldn’t have had the heart to imemrse him, would you?

    I fed my ganesha (the husband’s jiggly belly warrants that nick) decent sweet kozhakattais. Tried ammini kozhakattais, which went straight to the gutter. Oh, and dinner was Chinese take-out :D

  10. The pleasure is all mine! I’m glad I could entertain you!
    ROFL @ “I fed my ganesha (the husband’s jiggly belly warrants that nick)” – So he’s not ‘Pati Parmeshwar’, he’s ‘Pati Vighneshwar’ huh? No offence! :P :D

  11. shitha: Hearing the lovely language spoken in its true raw sense is a rarity, and a handicap for me. So when I se eit, it makes me ridiculously ticklish and happpy :)

    CW: I don’t immerse them actually. :\ I immerse the turmeric one. This one adds to the collection am growing every year.
    lol@chinese take-out. :)

    WT: Chamathhu :D
    Size 1 waist aa? Acho, If you see last year’s wonder what you’d say!

  12. haha, undrallu lucky ga baane vachayi cos I was really tired and hungry when I started making them. Aipothe chaalu anna mood lo unde. Chef annanduku chaala thanks kaani, antha scene ledu :)

  13. nrsl: Thank you! Now that I’ve recd all these lovely encouraging comments, next time will post a how-to video! :))

    Priya: Yesterday I went to a ganpati puja and I realized the maharshtrians actually have a mold for making them. Will post the picture.

  14. Hey, this ganpati is soooo cute! really & seems u r too swift to make one! I wonder if I could do it tht fat – 20 mins! whoa!
    I’ve been looking to make one myself using some modelling clay. Really wanted to try my hand at this! wud be great if you guide me with some! Dunno where to begin!

    • Anubha: Well, I took time too, to get to this point, though I do it just once a year. I believe it will help if you break the shapes down to do-able geometric pieces.
      Flat base, then rounded tummy and chest, pointed triangles for ears, and the flat oblong face and the trunk. Piece it together then :)
      I’ve been meaning to make a video, if I do, will post. Thanks for asking! :)

I'd love to hear what you have to say, do write back!

