boomerang

Alright, I donno about any of you, but am sick of seeing me mope around like this. Nothing’s changed with respect to the conditions, except my attitude. What shall happen will happen. Why spoil the present too right? Right.

So yea, was in NYC over the weekend, and no, didn’t do much, and I even dragged the rest of them down with me. In my defense, I did ask for the husband to go on ahead without me as I was walking at a pace that so was not suited for the city, but no, he whined and pouted and as expected I succumbed. I mean, when someone just so studiously makes a scene of wanting your company, the least honorable thing is to go with it. The reasons behind the whines for the said company: Those, we shall not get into.

At the Empire State building, one toddler walked past me looking up at me very bewildered. Thought getting down the 6 floors would be relatively easy, but after the 2nd flight down I was quite miserable and then basically I was stuck between the rock and the hard place. That’s when the toddlers and tons of old desi parents raced past me and I marveled at how times could and will change.

In any case, I did do the OakTree round Sunday evening. Not flattering at all. Ate bhel poori. Not appetising at all. I am in the danger of getting a really big fat head if someone doesn’t feed me some killer bhels quickly. :| Seriously speaking though, am gonna continue in the crusade for that perfect commercial bhel. So all you NJites better start listing me the places quickly to save your state, coz it’s in the danger of going down Rads’ list of places to revisit. ;-p

What particularly caught my fancy was this.

Sitafal Ice Cream as in Custard Apple ice cream.

Sitafal ICE CREAM?!

Sitafal ICE CREAM?!

You wondering what’s the deal? Let me explain.

This is a custard apple.

This is how it looks when you open it.

I like the taste of it. Especially, if someone peeled it for me, and popped the seeds out. No, am not a pampered brat, but seriously though, think about it. You pop it in your mouth, and just as the taste tingles its way up for you to go “oooh” , there’s a darned seed needling its way down your throat and if you aren’t careful would quickly go bye-bye down. How annoying is that?

Primary reason for not eating this nice fruit: Seeds.

Now reflect on this. If this lovely fruit is filled to the brim with black seeds, imagine how much of the fruit actually has pulp. I am going to throw a number in and say 30%. How many custard apples would go into a scoop?

O wait. All you need is a drop of the essence and the flavor’s made. Yeah?

Either way, completely popped my eyes off its dark miserable self-pitying sockets.

27 thoughts on “boomerang

  1. rads:

    i didn’t hear you complain about jackfruit seeds (didn’t you write about buying jackfruit from korean stores in a big mall sometime back?)!!

    btw, check out mughal’s (or moghal’s – i don’t remember how they spell it anymore though i was there a month or so ago!). they have a super weekend buffet – you need to go soon though, their quality was down about 40% between december 2007 and july 2008. or maybe that was just because in december they had put their best christmas foot forward?

    – s.b.

  2. sb: Jackfruit seeds are huge. Unless I am a giant, I can’t swallow them without trying. These are pesky!

    lol@christmas foot fwd. Restaurants! Losing it for them..

  3. chill, you are as rare and cool as that sitafal icecream, just keep kicking and things should improve (or was it coz of the constant kicking? :P)

    just wondering if the oncoming winter would make things worse?

  4. Sitaphal icecream is a big favorite here in Mumbai, courtesy M/s natural ice-cream, juhu. The real thing, not essence. India is great!

    Traveling salesman these days, ergo telegraphic comment.

    Cheers!

  5. naren: Really? :O Gosh, I do need to move around a lil eh? :\
    lol@traveling salesman. Please return to home base, your little anecodtes are surely missed.

    Pavan: LOL@constant kicking. “Constant wear and tear” is what I was told, so I guess that qualifies? Thank you though! :)
    Gee@winter. If you see another whiny post, you’d know :D

    Silvara: I do too! Just find it a lil messy to eat :)
    aw, thank you. Coming by now! :)

    CW: maybe we should open a blog. Best chaats in each country sorta collection?

    bpsk: That comment was insipid as the bhel I ate. I thought you’d be all riled about me dissing your NJ :P

  6. Sometime last summer, my roomie and I spotted some pitiful sitafals at the Indian store when in the Univ. We were just standing there and looking at them for 2 mins wondering if it was all real :)) Its been ages since we had eaten one and to see the unexpected guest at the store was a shocker. But they were the kacha ones sadly left out by the early and eager desi junta. The next weekend we were there promptly at store opening time to get a good handful…but the seeds are a pain. No satisfaction from eating the fruit at all!

  7. hmm.. wonder what the reasons behind the whining for your company were!! hey would he care to conduct “the sensitive husband 101”? I’d gladly enroll utp… he always whines that im too clingy and that he could really use some “me time” :P

  8. oh and the custard apple scenario.. i could almost feel the heavenly flavour tingling its way up before your highly accurate mention of the darned seed came and ruined the fantasy just like the real thing does! hmph :|

  9. Ya.. someone fill me in too. I live next door to a desi chat place but I have noticed that they suck. I also live next door to a “Hot Breads” franchise, but the chat there is so so. Their paneer tikka pannini rocks though :)

  10. anantha: This is the height! ..and here I thought you an NJ’ite!
    Same here@hot breads. I live so close that I could eat a panneer tikka panini and then jog home and not feel too bad :)

    Shmetterling: LOL@nick!
    I thought you’d have left. Get my mail?

    mayG: haha, it does doesn’t it? :)
    re whining: Oh, he was just cribbing he’d have to manage 4 kids (our 3 + our friends kid) all by himself in the big bad city and that even school trips had more chaperones. :\

    Priya: LOL. I know, something better than nothing scenario. Amen@seeds are a pain. :)

  11. Sitaful reminds me of the comedy scene from Rangeela:

    “Sitaful milkshake laana … dho…”
    “Sir, Sitaful season nahi hain, November mein milega”
    “Tho November me jaake le aao”

    We get very nice chaat items here in Kansas city. There is a grocery store and an old amma who makes it. She makes it very well, we love her – Samosa chat, papdi chat and dahi puri, haven’t tried bhel but hey it is the same hands making so it must taste good.

  12. hi … stumble upon ur blog

    custard apple = sweet sop in Jamaica. its eaten a lot here when in season. and in certain rural areas the trees are everywhere!

  13. Tea: That’s the reassuring part in life :)
    Will do. :)

    Uncensoredmind: sweet sop eh?

    Thanks for dropping and commenting you two :)

    Praveen: There’s a custard apple ice cream parlor in Pondy Bazaar? Great. I give up now. :\

  14. Rads
    I love your blog….
    Just returned back from India last week. And had to catch up on your posts for the last one month. You are so good.
    I live in MD closer to Baltimore. Can you please tell me where the gems show was? I want to go to the next one. Is there a website or something. How can i find out.

  15. Jyothi: Thank you, you’re sweet :) India trip eh? *sigh, donno when I can go next.

    intergem.com has a schedule. Also, I think there’s one coming to MD at Timonium on Halloween’s! Enjoy! :)

  16. Me thinks am commenting real late but here goes. I second Mithaas in Edison for great chaat( not sure about the bhel though coz after living on bhel in good ole’ mumbai cannot bring myself to eat the stuff anyplace else) Now, for really GREAT bhel you’d have to knock on my door in NJ. And you’d be more than welcome morose mood and all:-)

  17. deepa: You ARE such a sweetheart for inviting me! Thank you, one of these days am driving over, pucca! :)
    Mithaas eh? well, after the husband ate at OakTree, he’s sworn he isn’t taking that exit again off NJ tpk. I can’t believe he said this and I smiled in return but he said “am driving you home woman, and once we reach, you are making me a nice cuppa masala chai and some smashing bhel to go with it!”

    Grabbing at ’em left-handed straws, I blushed.

    Pri: chikoos I like. Mango I love. custard ice cream? :\

I'd love to hear what you have to say, do write back!

