whose wallet did you fatten?

I was browsing some blogs and came across this meme that asked the question “what did you buy today”, and figured hey, why not make a post of it? Then as I started typing this down, I realized what kinda lame life I actually lead since I really haven’t been on any shopping binge (I had the plan all set out and was completely stumped by a swollen knee and a very charming orthopedist, can’t get into it now, but i promise I will soon!) recently, and after reading what I bought recently (since no one really shops on weekdays) you shall agree that I do live a no-life indeed.

So projecting the shopping days far back into the weekend, let me list where I blew the husband’s hard earned money:

1. Bought Aspirin for mom and a pack of whole wheat mini-bagels on Tuesday. $7 I think.

2. A cold pack for my knee on Monday. $8 or so.

3. Sunday I blew a large amount on the DSP concert, some samosas (which were terrible), and ice cold water (which was heavenly), a tall white chocolate mocha with whipped cream for me and a double choc chip frappucino for daughter at starbucks before the show. Not adding it up as I may not really want to know.

4. Aeropostale has a $20 sale off jeans apparently. It’s tempting, but I shall wait in the hope that I shed a few pounds before Fall hits and then I shall not have to squeeze myself into the size I think I am and actually not!

Care to list and show me how you are living better off than me? Please, make my day! Vicarious living is so much fun, I swear!

23 thoughts on “whose wallet did you fatten?

  1. I havent spent anything today!! :O
    Actually havent spent in the last week… The only thing I’ve been fattening is my tummy sitting at home and reading! :(
    I’m putting off buying clothes for the next few months…so I can buy the right fit once I loose wt when I join my residency!! :(

  2. I have been spending quite a lot in the last 1 month. 1500/- on shoes, 400/- on books, about 800 on my trip to Mysore and eating and drinking out. But this is’nt how I live always, can be quit a miser at times :D.

  3. Oh my god – this is freaky, but here goes:
    * Whole wheat mini-bagels and Buttermilk – $7 (ha!)
    * A cube of Zingerman's brownie – $3 – aka dessert yday
    * Brooklyn Egg Creme (which neither has egg nor creme) – $2.50 :) also thanks to awesome Zingermans!
    * Shirts for work(supposedly, except the tankini and the skirts don't count really), from Kohl's over the weekend – * sigh * price undisclosed.
    * Shoes! Shoes! Shoes! Wedges, black loafers and a tie-die ballerina – price undetermined.
    * Gas- $40 ($%^&*!@%^@#&*)
    A such a great feeling to see the lameness that is my life, and what my hard-earned money goes into.

  4. Friday – Movie – $8.50 (Student Discount)
    Saturday – $25 – Printing Photos
    Sunday – $30 – Ikea
    Monday – $10 – Airport Parking
    Tuesday – $60 – Gas and Rice (Fuel for the car and me)
    Wednesday – $0 (projected)

  5. Oh my god – this is freaky, but here goes:
    * Whole wheat mini-bagels and Buttermilk – $7 (ha!)
    * A cube of Zingerman’s brownie – $3 – aka dessert yday
    * Brooklyn Egg Creme (which neither has egg nor creme) – $2.50 :) also thanks to awesome Zingermans!
    * Shirts for work(supposedly, except the tankini and the skirts don’t count really), from Kohl’s over the weekend – * sigh * price undisclosed.
    * Shoes! Shoes! Shoes! Wedges, black loafers and a tie-die ballerina – price undetermined.
    * Gas- $40 ($%^&*!@%^@#&*)
    A such a great feeling to see the lameness that is my life, and what my hard-earned money goes into.

  6. tony: LOL, we all do :)

    schmetterling: I knew you’d come with a nice list. See, I wish I could buy shoes too :(
    ditto on gas – spend 60frikkindollars to fill the tank!

    boosmom: Panera? I sorta like it :)
    Pricey parking eh?

    Pilgrim: Ikea? Really? What did you get?

    Praveen: lol@miser. Well, I believe there’s tons of disposable income among youngsters in India these days? You an aberrant or what? :p

    whencut: hehe, dinno guys fret about losing weight too :P

    ..and I thought just joining residency alone would shed a few kilos! no? :p

  7. So for the past week, I only went “shopping” on Saturday plus 60$ gas@Costco today. Vicarious living indeed!

    (all rounded to closest dollar)
    Indian groceries : 17$
    regular groceries(Safeway) : 19$
    Korean market : 11$
    Costco(for detergents and swiffer refills) : 40$
    Dress Barn(to use up 50% off coupon expiring same day-2 tops) – 13$
    BBB(to use up 5$ off coupon-stainless steel appliance cleaner)- 11$

    After all this mundane and coupon instigated “shopping”, I came home for a green tea. No expense there!

    Lame, right? Now if you’d asked me whose wallet I fattened in my fantasy land- you’d get something interesting out of that- for sure! :D

  8. hmmm lemme look over the damage(weekend) from my bank called Appa. :D
    bundle heel at Aldo – 59.99(on sale, YAY!)
    swim wear(billabong) from pacsun – think it was like 24.99 each piece
    cold stone creamery…me, 2 cousins plus a friend – 20ish?
    hookah place – 15.99 for that ahem exotic peaches and cream flavor
    Temple offering – sssshhh stuff no? :)

  9. Wrong person to ask, but anyway:

    Groceries at the local store: $75.28 (for 5 ppl)

    Indian Store: $46.06

    Cook Out Caramel Milkshake: $2.69

    Cool Breeze chat(Aloo Tikki+Bhel Puri for me: $7.00 ish…

    Gas: No idea. Rommie’s car. So, free ride. :P
    Does it show am a unfunded student who is just having a good summer thanks to internship?

  10. adithya: Too much@Aloo tikki :| You do know you can’t mention chaat without offering a piece of it to me don’t you?

    WT: Cold stone creamery! Now, that’s an indulgence. oooo@hookah bar. I really ought to try it one of these days…
    You go to temple AND do offerings and all eh? *gasp*

    Altoid: You make me feel sooooo much better. Groceries and the mundane, life is simple and good no? :D

  11. Well… joining residency will shed a few kilos…and working there gets ppl down a size or two! So anything I buy now will be oversized!! And for someone who’s been as thin as a matchstick all his life…. :(

  12. Um, no. I’ve just realized that I have a way to make you feel better about your sending habits.

    I bought two bags of chips for my daughter’s playgroup (so much for healthy eating !) during the entire week.

    Hey, but tomorrow is grocery day ! :-)

    Priya.

  13. Hmm,
    Lemme see…

    Saturday
    Spent a well-worth-it $22 on a pedicure.
    $35 on Indian buffet lunch.
    Blew some 70 bucks in Mervyn’s (yaay, I got 20% off) buying clothes and shoes.
    Blew a bit more than that on groceries and household stuff.
    Sunday
    Spent $18 for the Batman movie.
    $22 @ Kohl’s.
    Monday
    Filled up gas in car for some astronomical sum of money.
    Tuesday
    Spent around $60 on Greek dinner.

    Why do I feel I have the longest list among all the commenters :-(?

  14. Archana: OMG! OMG! You do live well don’t you? ..and you call this lame? Boy, we need to redefine what I am then. :\
    I so want your life, at least the greek diner and pedicure part. Am so overdue for one and it’s summer. argh!

    Priya: No worries on typos, sending or spending bags of potato chips are soooo goodd! Am sure the girls called you the ‘bestest aunty ever!” :P

    Whencut: If that’s the case, you need to spend on food. Good hearty cheesy food :D

    Lekhni: Plants? ooo, are you naming each one of them babies too? :P

  15. I’m counting from last friday:

    Dark Knight(second time) :$10.00

    Carrot cake and coffee at seattle’s best/borders: $6.00

    Mediterranean food monday: $11.00 yummy hummus

    American eagle polo T in discount :) : $16.00

    Chilli’s Tuesday : $17.00 Damn Fajitas they always fall heavy on my wallet and stomach, but cant resist them :)

    Indian eatery wednesday: $11.00 total waste of money and time(it took them 1 hr to get us our dishes)

    Aeropostle polo T discounted: $16.00

  16. I bought 1,700 rupees worth of fish, which my mom will convert into some great curry and fried fish which I will then convert into calories. Today, by the way, is Gataari Amavasya, day of binge eating and drinking. Etymology of Gataari – “derived from the word ‘gutter'(english: open drain), owing to the custom among Marathi people to drink so much on this day that the gutter becomes the natural resting place”. From tomorrow starts the month of Shraavan, in which one does not consume fish and liquor. Hence the binge. I’m not Marathi (Konkani. Close, but not quite there) but I share with them a fondness for both fish and liquor, a fondness which sadly is looked down upon by important figures of authority in my life, such as my wife.

    But today, I binge eat, period.

  17. Naren: That was informative. Thank you! No, am not kidding, I mean it. I had no idea about this Gataari amavasya. Our ancestors are quite the accomodative thoughtful ones creating days for our pleasure indeed.
    ah well, wives usually frown on anything husband-related. Not to take it personally :p

    Maverick: I LOVE that carrotcake at Seattle’s best! You stick to norm, food taketh over! :)

  18. hmm…trying to sleep after doing an expenditure list wouldn’t really help since I am already very “happy” about it… :-(

    but the mention of “white chocolate mocha” is what drew me to this post. same pinch! :-)

I'd love to hear what you have to say, do write back!

