on niceness

Lakshmi awarded me with Nice Matter Awards.

What’s this award all about?

Nice Matters Award is for those bloggers who are nice people; good blog friends and those who inspire good feelings and inspiration. Also for those who are a positive influence on our blogging world.”

//lakshmusings.files.wordpress.com/2008/03/nice_matters.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

When I first popped in to see her post, I was a bit rushed for time. It felt good, but I was more so pleasantly surprised as Laksh, I believe, was reading me since only a short while.

When I did have some time to relax and let it sink in, I surely felt more than honored. Not just because someone felt I deserved it, but more so on who felt it and in the time the person did. So Thank you Laksh, it was time I acknowledged it. [The truth remains that this draft started off the day I saw the post, but somehow kept getting postponed being published!]

Frankly, it is hard to talk about the whole niceness of it all, without seeming pretentious or pompous, but I am going to try. The catch or the success on how much of nicety or happiness you carry forward always remains on how much resistance a person offers or does not offer, to change.

As far as the good feelings and inspiration I supposedly instill in a few of you, all I can say is, first off, you guys must be kidding right!?

Secondly, even if I do grudgingly accept that fact that there is some truth to it, it’s a happy fruitful side-effect of being an open blog. Something’s gotta give somewhere, and I have no qualms or issues with what I write here. There is a lot of good and bad around us, it’s in our own wisdom to make use of what’s available. So, if you are gleaning something out of my days and experiences, it is you who are creating a change, a revelation, a difference in your own lives.

There are many of you who are nice people, genuinely and consistently large-hearted fun folks, and that in effect, makes me wonder: If this is a sampling of our real selves, that “happiness is us” and that being “nice” is our default system, then where are more of you in the real world out there? Maybe the sample is small, and scattered far and wide for us to identify each other. Or maybe the masks are on.

Not having the freedom to be what you truly are, is a let-down of your own existence. A disappointment. Sometimes the very basic answers we ask ourselves – what is the purpose of life, where is the meaning, why am I here on this world, where/who/what is God, why should bad stuff happen to good people – is quite simply glaring at us right in our face, coz I believe that goodness and niceness is us. Well, okay, it isn’t that simple, but at least you aren’t looking in the wrong place.

Ultimately, I believe we show different sides according to the situations we are placed in. ..and that’s just the way the cookie crumbles.

Maybe this wasn’t meant to be a serious award/tag, and maybe, just maybe I feel this way at this moment in time, and have rambled on and on, so with all apologies in place, I shall stop now. [I hear loud sighs of relief, okay okay, I get the point! bah :–p ]

So yes, the award goes to all you fine people out there, especially more so if you are reading this. ;–)

Party on!

19 thoughts on “on niceness

  1. Congratulations! I think you’re THE candidate for that award.

    I’m fairly new to blogging but what I enjoy most is the feeling that I’m hanging out with a lot of old friends, ribbing each other a bit, reaching out in emotional support when it is needed, giving out some sound and wise advise when someone is confused, and most of all, having some clean, wholesome fun. That you are, ma’am, that you are. Fun, a friend to count on, and wise.

    High five from me.

    Cheers!

  2. Congratulations! Enjoy the fruits of your writing.

    “Not having the freedom to be what you truly are, is a let-down of your own existence.” I can’t agree more and you have put it down so beautifully :)

  3. naren: Though one could debate on the wisdom issue, am honored. Thank you. Hi-five :–)

    mayG: lol, PMS is a double-edged sword eh?! :–p

    Joy: All those sunday school lessons are creeping in sub-consciously me thinks. :\

  4. Sometimes the very basic answers we ask ourselves – what is the purpose of life, where is the meaning, why am I here on this world, where/who/what is God, why should bad stuff happen to good people – is quite simply glaring at us right in our face, coz I believe that goodness and niceness is us…..

    You mean as in, 42?? :p

    On a more serious note, about that all of us are nice people thing, you would have seen job requirements like – “good verbal and written communication skills”. Sadly that is something impossible. Lot of us (example, me) can explain and express ourselves only in one form. And blogging just made it simple for a lot of people. So you may be talking on the phone a lot with someone, but they may have never said things that they would have rather penned down. Thats what I think. Thats why the real world looks much worse than it actually is.

  5. Absolutely agree with naren. It is true I’ve been visiting your blog fairly recently but the way to express things makes me feel like I am listening to someone I know from a long time back. I believe the ‘niceness’ is out here for all to see :)

  6. Don’t know which part of the world you are in but youve certainly made it easy for me to drop by your space and leave some words oh-so-nice.
    Your posts do exude some kind of warmth that one experiences when one feels at home. owing to the risk of seeming biased its gotto be the Telugu in you. :)
    Tinte gaarale tinaali, Vinte Bhagavathame vinaali ani kaakunda
    Tinte pulihore Tinaali, Vinte Teluge vinaali annadi naayokka prema a bhaasha meeda.
    btw..entha arusthe maatram mammalni aravollu anadam eti!!! :)
    Three cheers!!!!!

  7. Priya: LOL. Ekkadnunchi oodipaddavo kaani, you are fun! :–)
    I used to get bullied by all the AP cousins – Aravam Pilla – ani! waste candidates anuko. Maha kopam vochedi, and then I’d scoff my nose at them and continue a convo in tamglish with sister, just to spite ’em :–D

    Schmetterling: :–)

    Laksh: Thank you :–)

    Aditya: 42? That totally flew over my head! :\

    “good verbal and written communication skills”. Sadly that is something impossible

    No way! seriously, why is that impossible? Nothing is if you work at it, and more importantly want it. Absolutely agree with the rest. Folks have walls around them in real life.

    This is so begging to be churned into a post
    :–D

  8. oodipadadama!!! ROTFL
    naa roundukki weightikki oodipadithegaani i can’t stay aground.(modesty???) :)
    anyway do you really mean am fun or were you just being nice as the post is all about :)
    and about Telugu oka roju chaaladu. The last movie that i saw before marriage ie before i left the Telugu land for good was “Ninne Pelladutha”. Asalu cinema ayyakke ento Greeku veerudu vachi nannu pelli chesukuntunattu. Teera chuste…some reality bites!!! :) Vachinathane Greekku Veerudu (koddiga roundu pourudu) anukuni adjust ayipoya!!!
    Laterz!!!!

  9. Addendum!
    Greekku veerudu anaga gurthuku vachindi.
    Maa annaya snehitudu peru duduvi.Mari adingaanu kada emititi aa peru ani. duduvi ante duvvenakku dooramayina veerudu ata!
    in a word, bald! :)
    yensoi!!!

  10. I had to return to comment for this blog post.

    “Maybe this wasn’t meant to be a serious award” – Finally you get it :)

    “Frankly, it is hard to talk about the whole niceness of it all, without seeming pretentious or pompous, but I am going to try.” – But you still want to try to be pompous!

    And as an afterthought –
    How would you discern the fine folks without the imbeciles like me?

  11. Pilgrim: You having a bad day? Or was this your style of kidding?
    Either way *ouch* :–)

    Priya: Ninne pelladtey is such a nice movie :-) Have the DVD and watch it occasionally. lol@greeku veerudu and husband. Talli, reel life real life avutunda? ;–)
    ROFL@duduvni!

    WT: hehe :–)

I'd love to hear what you have to say, do write back!

