flip side

…of spending too much time online:

“Thinking everyone in real life also thinks you’re funny, cool and exceptionally brilliant.”

Funny? NOT!

We bloggers are so royally perfectly spoilt! I mean, really, enjoying real life is becoming unbearably and ridiculously a burden, especially more so when folks around you are extremely cautious of their smiles, like there was the Grand Famine and they were stocking up on every little muscle that ought to twitch, or like me eating teeny small baby teaspoons of imported mom’s avakaya coz it has to last a year at least..

….and don’t even get me started on their sense of humor, or the lack there of…

bah!

21 thoughts on “flip side

  1. rads:

    “like there was the Grand Famine and they were stocking up on every little muscle that ought to twitch,…”

    i’ll go with the great famine theory, especially after today’s visit to the local desi store.

    i swear, prices of wheat and rice have doubled since the last time we were there, not more than a couple of months ago.

    online, we can sate ourselves with a glance at the bhels! ;-)

    – s.b.

  2. Very very true…the worst would have to be when you crack what you believe is an extremely clever witty joke and nobody gets it. I feel almost a life saving moment has occured when one person in the room gets it. Then I feel like we form an elite club of intellectually humourous ppl. Ok. I agree. I am spoilt.

  3. gds: Totally! It’s all situational. Guards are down here, so you are free to say whatever and then scoot! :D

    Nandita: I so hear ya! I think it’s safe to say we live in a world of our own, where camaraderie is our blogright ;)
    It’s been such a long while seeing you here, all good?

    SK: :)

    CW: lol, I am as transparent as they come. After awhile there’s nothing much left to see and folks lose interest. :)

    Kiddo: O nothing, a few and then I wrote a mail to a “real” person in my usual tone with a generous sprinkling of smiles, and I get a curt professional sounding reply back. *sigh. People really have issues becoming friends. :) Real ones I mean..

  4. Pingback: my e-friend can (virtually) kick your real friend’s butt « Veni Vidi Vici

  5. wtaurus: So do you smile and say hi to strangers too? :P

    pavan: I like that line, you oughta get a bumper sticker made :P

    Pilgrim: Well, coz you are an online jack-in-the-box, thats why! :p

  6. maybe the reason being that we choose our online friends because we connected with their thoughts/humor whereas in real life we realize the fact (or sad truth) after we start the relation?

  7. Pavan: Didn’t really plan on making this a serious thought-provoking post, was more of a fun thing, but apparently it sounds more senti or serious than fun.
    [*note to self* – Do not please ever ever try your hand at dry humor, you suck]

    It’s a good thought tho, maybe a post on it is due :)

  8. ayyo, I got the comic part of your post, but I was just trying to look deeper.. as I said, it was something that I had thought of some days back :) bad that I came out all serious like that guy in ur email reference :D (wait, was it me? dont tell me!)

  9. Hey, I thought I had commented! Those wordpress guys! Now my immortal words are lost for ever. Future generations will not be able to benefit from the pearls of wisdom they contained. Not to worry. I will repeat them from memory.

    Do not play ‘catch’ with your sons when your wife has laid out her best crockery.

    Oops, wrong comment!

    My comment was, Rads, I cannot believe you don’t have everyone at work and home in splits all the time.

  10. @rads: Am gonna pretend that wasn’t just a polite enquiry and actually bore you with details:
    1) Was going trough quarterly “existential angst” phase in life
    2) Having a whale of a family life with all the cousins down from the US
    3) Was sick & on bed rest at folks place (and hence with no internet access) for 15 days in feb
    None of which are excuse for missing ur blog.
    But will a “glad to be back” suffice?

  11. Pingback: Nominations So Far…(Updated 06/Oct…still more to come) « Visceral Observations

I'd love to hear what you have to say, do write back!

