project poem

I’d earlier blogged about the daughter’s interesting Math teacher and the very challenging creative little homeworks she hands out to students and their parents alike. There have been more of such bouncers that came our way but this evening was quite amusing. For me. Apparently it was for the daughter as well.

Daughter pings me on gchat.

She: Mom. When are you leaving?
Me: It’s still 5.25, in a bit. All okay?
She: Yeah.
Me: Hungry?
She: Not really, I ate all the pasta from yesterday and even baked cookies!
Me: Cookies?! What? :O
She: Mom, relax. These are the Pillsbury sugar ones.
Me: Oh. ohhhh. Did they turn okay?
She: Yes mom, unlike the kind you bake for us, I managed to keep them a nice shade of sepia. Even bro ate. My share too I mean. I hate him.
Me: I know, he hates you too. So let’s not waste any more time on that. Important things need to be addressed. Like how you just broke my heart. *sulk* complaining about my baking skills indeed! Thatsit, no more cookies for you!
She: That’s ok. I can bake them myself. haha.
Me: argh. :(

Long pause of 3 minutes.

She: Ok, stop sulking now. Check mail.

and this is what I got:

***

Subject: Genius work.

Body: I know, it’s beautiful. Don’t be jealous. I will write one for you too.

Math poem

Little Johnny went to class
Hoping that he would easily pass.
That is until he came to math,
Then he knew this was a hard path.
His teacher asked him if he knew how to multiply,
But just as he was a ’bout to reply
Johnny’s mind went blank
And his heart just sank.
Next they came the formulas
Oh they felt like tarantulas.
With the X’s and Y’s
It was difficult to comply
For when she said Y=MX+B
He said everything except “whoopee”
But the more Johnny thought,
He realized it wasn’t a battle to be fought.
Percentages, decimals and fractions
All depended on my actions.
Math was just a bunch of digits,
That Johnny loved to fidget with.
It was just a whole lot of fun,
That had to be done.

***

 

A math project that the fine Math lady bestowed upon her students in honor of her birthday, the Giants win, and the Valentine’s around the corner.

Yes, am bragging, she wrote this up between heating pasta, baking cookies, fighting off her bro, cajoling mommys sulks – all within a span of an hour. I need to learn time management from her. Really.  

25 thoughts on “project poem

  1. Moore’s law at its best! Don’t worry, your daughter would write a similar post about her daughter (and then you can call her up and say “whos your mama now?”), zamaana changes exponentially!

  2. Wow, instead of sulking, you need to encourage this habit. Saying things like “Yes, honey, you’re cooking is so good, I don’t know how you do it.” Pretty soon, you’ll be getting breakfast in bed, and dinner when you come home. :-)

    Lol @ “I know, it’s beautiful.” – looks like she’s definitely inherited the modesty gene from you. :p

  3. I laughed really hard! I’ve got a couple of kids like that – sassy but likeable – the kind who could say yes, Asim’s dad is about your height except he doesn’t have a pot belly – without batting an eyelid, and then expect you to factorize ten quadratic equations from 6.30 am to 6.45 am, its getting LATE for school, dad!.

    And she’d make a pretty good lyricist.

  4. Pingback: Math Resources Blog » project poem

  5. Lekhni: lol, she’s always had the words working for her alright. :)

    Naren: Thank you!! Having tweens is like being on a roller coaster. It’s wild fun :)

    Pavan: Oh yes, and am glad she has more of the circuits than I do. Totally glad. :)

    CW: She could very well become one if I don’t watch out. She reads this space occasionally btw :)

    SK: She actually does write stuff up in a jiffy. Has a SOH I envy too :)

    BPSK: lol, na, let her stay a kid. There’s a lifetime ahead of cooking and work anyway.
    Donno about modesty, but am glad she hasnt gotten my DQ gene :)
    ..but then again, the munchkin has that, so there..

    Terri: 12 and no, it was the toaster oven. No unsupervised stove handling at all. In fact no supervised also. Trying to stall it as much as I can.

    Pavan: LOL. Yea, cycle of life.

  6. Adorable :) Looks like she got your skill with words. This almost reminds me of me and my mum though, only no gtalk those days. I used to scribble down scrips in a little book and when she used to come back from work, she’d read about my dentist, my table, my garden etc. etc. and be all happy and grinning. :)
    I saw someone had said, tomorrow she’d do it for her own daughter etc..it’s true, time is a wonderful thing :)

  7. Shreya: haha, sweet. :) I am collecting these lil scraps of hers, not organised at all, but at least I have them all sittin in one place.

    DS: Yes, as in she’s 12 with a mental stability of a 35 36 year old and the mom’s vice versa :)

  8. how to teach kids to be self reliant

    lesson 4325, aka the hands off approach

    “Thatsit, no more cookies for you!
    She: That’s ok. I can bake them myself. haha.”

    – s.b.

  9. SB: sometimes we parents unwittingly teach them well eh?

    Bhaanu: At least her self-esteem is in overdrive than less. We can always scale back if necessary :)

  10. Wow! I see that Terry has asked the question I was about to, amazing stuff for a 12 year old. Impressive

    As to the mental stability part, same story in my household. The lad who is couple of years older than your daughter, comes across a lot more mature than me. It just proves that I am doing a great job of bringing him up, where as I my parents messed up :)

  11. WA: Awesome seeing you here! You kept giving me the slip everytime I tracked you down! :)
    Thank you! :)

    Leo: What? How can you even say that? Keep rhymezone.com open and start writing away. All you need is to start – am serious!

    Joy: Thank you. She is inclined towards arts. Moreover the school system in US does challenge creativity. It helps. :)

I'd love to hear what you have to say, do write back!

