is it just me

or does anyone else feel it’s a travesty to be bound down to a 9-5 job?

I mean, look at the good valuable precious hours we spend tied down doing whatever we do, when we could be out there doing so much more?
Honestly speaking, after I have started full-time work, I have renewed respect and appreciation for folks who can do this, day in and day out, and for years together. Folks must really LOVE their jobs, to give up on the time, and freedom. But then again, I can hear someone quipping about money and career, which I guess matters.

So how many love what they do? Really…

23 thoughts on “is it just me

  1. hmm is that how you feel? i guess it depends on what a person prefers – i personally look forward to having a steady job instead of my life with a million different things to do everyday! when, where, and what i do is completely up to me. sometimes i think i have too many choices.

    i’m not going to talk about money or career achievements, i think enjoying what you do is all that matters. if i think what i do is important to me and makes an impact, then it’s all good.

    but it must be kind of hard since it’s been a long time since you ventured into the 9-5 world, esp when you have the flexibility with your boutique! how is that going by the way?

  2. “Folks must really LOVE their jobs”
    I do :) But there are times, especially in summer when the day is beautiful, I do feel like I am wasting my youthful years (OK, OK, slightly past youthful years) cooped up the cube :(

  3. Yes that is what happens when you have tasted freedom and liberation from the tyranny of 9-5 schedule and the pressufre it imposes on the hours before and after.
    I find it impossible to subject myself to any kind of routine now. cannot imagine how I went through it for 20 years.
    But a lot of my friends say that they would not know how to fill their hours if they didnt have such a routine. I guess some need it in that sense.

    usha@agelessbonding
    Had to do this because otherwise I am asked to do word verification many times and still the comment is not acccepted. happened with earlier posts.

  4. I think it is good that you are asking these questions…a rumination of one’s mind and soul is a good way to find out what one really wants out of life. I ask myself these questions too because somewhere I am aware that there are choices. So, here’s to life and balance….

  5. I love what i do, but I also have tons of things to do when I have the time to do as well. But I sure hear you that staying in one place during the prime time of the day and doing one same thing all the time is BORING And not to mention seeing the same ppl 9-5 , 5 days a week every day!

  6. sruti – Both of us are looking at life from 2 completely different standpoints, and how 1 person feels one day is no assurance that that’s how it’s gonna be tomorrow.
    Boutique couldn’t be better. :-)

    dna – we all go through our ups and downs :(

    usha – this word verif is bothering me absolutely. Ive lost so many comments at few blogs at visit! Maybe I will go disable it now.
    Ive heard the other side of complaints too – I guess some folks need that constancy.

    inder – wish everyone was blessed with simplicity :)

    orchid – I get these bolts of thoughts occasionally. ;-)

    madsies – thanks for understanding :p

    aashun – will check now. am glad am not alone. :)

  7. :-). I think there is something inherently wrong in a 9 to 5 job (and yet I have done it, in fact a regular 9 to 9 job , many times even more). :-) I think the loss of freedom is felt by those who dont love their job OR love their job, but also love to do other things (which is the case with many of us). People who are satisfied by spending 1/3 of their life in just one kind of work, wouldnt have a problem.

  8. Hi Rads,
    First of, howdy! Long time!

    I like what I do, so I dont mind the 9 – 5 routine. In fact it kind of gives me a sense of purpose, like my existence is justified or something like that. I know I sound crazy, still..

    I used to work at a place I hated to the core, and boy, each day was a drag, almost lead me to depression.

  9. maybe it’s because i don’t work fulltime i’m still fond of work :) but if it’s just 9-5, then i work 9-5 two days a week :) it gives me so much time to actually do some much more ..blog,read,study .. :P i’m still in the stage where i hold a student job, and am loving it , i guess :) i should come back and review and re-evaluate when i get a ‘real’ job !

  10. I do like what I do everyday from 8-5 or even later on many days. But there are some gorgeous days on which all I want to do is ditch the laptop and go jump in a lake :p literally! But seriously, I do like routines, they keep you grounded I think :)

  11. i want to live on a college campus or a hostel for the rest of my life!!!….no office hrs for me please….the only next best thing and a fitting end (?) to collg life would be workin for google,with all those rumored perks……if only wishes cane true!!

  12. I do not work from 9-5. I cannot afford to just work for 8 hours (atleast more than 12 hours a day)… because I am a grad student you see.
    I cannot say I am usefull all the 12 hours, but really… forget about careers and future monetory prospects, the mere joy of discovering new things however small after days of work is enough to inspire me.

    when the paper gets rejected that a completely different story though :(

  13. I have this irresistable urge to go back to school and wrap up a Ph.D.

    Sadly, that would mean at least 8 years of my life in the academia. Arghhh.

  14. i DETEST 9-5.. they are so bluddy boring. rotuine. and there is not much felxibility or freedom given.. (jus finished my 9-5 internship u see;P)but then again in a design ( creative profession) u cannot afford to have a 9-5 job..

  15. I work in a kind of job where day in and day out you have to solve problems of a logical nature. If the problem is challenging enough, I really love spending hours at it until it is solved – it leaves me a little lightheaded and my brain tickling (all that logical reasoning does tax your brain), but I like that feeling. If the problem in hand is dry and there isn’t much challenge in it it is a drag to solve it. If I like the job, I often work more than 15 hours at a stretch. If I don’t like the work, I often work less than 1 hour. The good thing is that my employer doesn’t bother about how long I work as long as I get things done.

    Regards,
    W. H.
    http://allthetiredhorsesinthesun.blogspot.com

  16. hey W.H. i completely understand! when you’re in the zone, the feeling is just amazing! it’s like the runner’s high people always talk about or when you are so immersed in a novel, the world just doesn’t seem to exist.

  17. its true. i am in your club or caravan . i mean i took to software beacause there is cash and parents would be happy about it. and now as i work 9 to 9 , i ask myself , how long can i cheat myself ? i like beng simple, living simple but who cares , i need to be looked as a cash bag and so i go 9-9. How i wish i have my choice and that would leave no one grumbling

I'd love to hear what you have to say, do write back!

